The Hair Just Isn’t the Same

10 Jan

Watched Working Girl last night.  Not only do I have Carly Simon on loop running through my head (I won’t write the words, I promise), but I am in awe yet again with style.  I think there was maybe one outfit in that movie I would ever consider wearing today.  Maybe.

Let’s start with 1.) hair. 

I’m not sure I know the words to describe this hair.  Epic?  Gargantuan?  Pooftastic?  It’s eerily similar to the “hedgehog” hairstyle from the late 1700s, but she’s wearing it with big shoulders instead of a big skirt.  No wonder proportions look off.

And this hair is supposed to be work appropriate?  Thank goodness she cut it off before meeting Harrison Ford.  Not that the cut diminished the poof, of course.

2.) makeup.

Not the prettiest shot of Joan Cusack, sorry, but it’s a great still of that eye makeup.  Wow.  Lots of eyeliner, two intense shades of eyeshadow, and no blending.  Add some deep red lipstick, and shazam!  You have the street to yourself, as everyone rushes away from you.

3.) the power suit, aka the reign of the shoulder pads.

What an amazing fad.  I get the politics behind it- dress like a man so you will get treated with more respect- but I am so happy we’ve moved beyond this.  Stylistically, at least.  Though this one isn’t too bad.

4.) the voice.  Not that this has anything to do with style, but does anyone else get annoyed with Melanie Griffith’s little girl voice?  No wonder people don’t take her character seriously!

Moral of the story: I love watching Working Girl as a snap shot of 1988.  I am also very afraid that I will look back in 20 years at what I am wearing today and laugh at myself.

Finally, I found this too funny not to include here…

2 Responses to “The Hair Just Isn’t the Same”

  1. Cara January 11, 2011 at 4:40 pm #

    Must admit I am glad that the big hair went away not so much cause it is terrible, but more so because I am too damn lazy to get up and try to make my hair look that way! I like to think that I save on product too.

    • Cara January 11, 2011 at 4:41 pm #

      BTW… I too think the pink outfit isn’t that bad, but she reminds me of Jessica Simpson…yes I had to say it.

Leave a Reply

