Why Fringe Really Isn’t a Good Idea

28 Jan

I could get in trouble for saying this, but I really don’t like fringe.  At all.  On anything.  It’s tacky and strange looking and makes me think of bad westerns with a shootout at noon.

Why is fringe popular?  It has no practical purpose, so that means it’s meant to be decorative.  But what exactly is decorative about hanging unified scraps of fabric?  Doesn’t it just get caught in things?

Here’s a look that’s trying to take some inspiration from the ’20s.  How much better would this be without the fringe?

This is just tragic.

Maybe it’s an Elvis thing.

I don’t know.  I just don’t get it.

3 Responses to “Why Fringe Really Isn’t a Good Idea”

  1. JoBiv January 28, 2011 at 1:33 pm #

    I think the idea is to create a sense of movement without adding a ton of fabric… making something look larger but not heavier. Creating a transparent curtain of some kind. But yeah, if you have to detangle your shirt before leaving the house, I say that’s a bad sign.

  2. Coriana January 29, 2011 at 9:26 am #

    I don’t know. I think it’s all about context. If you want people to look at you and think of horses and ten-gallon hats, fringe can be a very effective and simple method of invoking an entire cultural mythology (granted, I hate the masculinist mythologized American West, but that’s another story). And there’s nothing wrong with fringe on a flapper dress, though I agree that Cousin It gown is going a bit too far.

    • Louise Hamill January 31, 2011 at 12:00 pm #

      I agree on all opinions. I’m not going to judge fringe in costumes or past fashions. I will, however, judge it in modern fashion. Just not my thing, I guess!

Leave a Reply

