In Love with a Boater

22 Mar

For some reason, this season I have decided I really want a straw boater.  I’m not sure why.  Only old men in barbershop quartets wear them.  But I honestly think this hat would be a fantastic spring/summer addition to my wardrobe.

A Barbershop Quartet

 

Boaters started out as a man’s summer hat.  They became popular in the 1890s, when looking athletic and outdoorsy was fashionable.  Both sexes wore them, though for women it was a masculine choice (much like wearing “boyfriend jeans” today).

One of my all time favorite paintings, Mr. and Mrs. I.N. Phelps Stokes by John Singer Sargent in 1896

The boater was appropriate for formal summer fashion, to be worn with a blazer and or tie.  Nowadays, the boater is reserved for period plays in the theatre and corny barbershop quartets.  WHY IS THIS?

Check out these photos below.  It really does work over a century later.

Am I right or am I right?

2 Responses to “In Love with a Boater”

  1. Coriana March 25, 2011 at 2:53 pm #

    You’re right, of course.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. BOATER UPDATE « My Hat Box (and Other Important Things) - February 8, 2012

    […] obsession started here.) Like this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

Leave a Reply

