Maxis: Are They Really That Great?

13 Jun

I find myself intrigued by the maxi dress this year.  I’m not interested in much else in this strange 70s revival- The shirt dress?  I don’t get it.  Where are your pants?- but the maxi is worth exploring.

This long dress started life in 1968 via Oscar de La Renta, lacy and ending just above the ankles.  It soon morphed into the flowing, flowery, caftany dresses of the early 70s, when it became a fashion staple.

The maxi is in the midst of making an impressive come back.  Celebrities have been wearing them for years, and folks love to praise it’s diversity in both look and function.  What better way to wear big and bold fabrics without looking crazy?  And I must say, women of all sizes look fantastic walking down the street with the fabric moving against their legs.

HOWEVER.  I can’t quite figure out the right time to wear them.  With the long skirt, I figure I can add a cardigan and I’ll be fine in coolish weather.  Except the fabric is too light, and I’m too cold.  So maybe I should wear it when it’s hot out, except then I do NOT want fabric anywhere near my legs.

A conundrum.

They are pretty though.

3 Responses to “Maxis: Are They Really That Great?”

  1. JoBiv June 13, 2011 at 4:20 pm #

    But here’s my question; how come I always look like I’m wearing a nightgown when I try them on? What am I doing wrong? Sigh.

    • Louise Hamill June 13, 2011 at 4:33 pm #

      I know, right? There are way more mu-mu maxis out there than should be allowed. Maybe it depends on the style of the bodice? A deep V instead of a crew neck?

  2. Melanie June 14, 2011 at 1:26 pm #

    I saw the photographer at the wedding I went to this weekend essentially wearing one of these, but with a V neck and small straps and she looked great. Perhaps a bit dressed down, but it was flattering on her.

Leave a Reply

