Where Did All the Hipsters Go?

30 Jun

This past weekend I went to Pittsburgh to visit two close friends.  I know, Pittsburgh.  But it ended up being a really fun trip, complete with a zooquarium, the Red Sox, street shopping and delicious food.  I spent a lot of time looking at buildings- almost everything is made of dark brick, and there are so many signs for businesses that might or might not be open, it’s fun to guess which business is real. There are also fire flies!  Who knew?

I also paid attention to the fashion around me, though that statement might be a stretch.  I can’t speak for all of Pittsburgh- maybe I was never in the fashionable part of town- but from what I saw, Pittsburgh is not that interested in being fashion forward.  The major themes seemed to be a.) sports wear, b.) club night, and c.) more sports wear.

SPORTS! SPORTS!  Turns out Pittsburgh is very proud of their sports teams.  And no wonder- they have the Steelers (football), the Penguins (hockey), and the Pirates (baseball).  I got to watch a Pirates vs. Red Sox game, so there was a TON of Red Sox t shirts around as well.  We were well represented.  But I didn’t see that much Pirates gear when I wasn’t at the ballpark.  Instead, I saw lots of Steelers and Penguins jerseys, even though neither team is playing at the moment.  I did see a few Bruins jerseys- I’m surprised they were allowed to enter the state.

The other consistent theme seemed to be short and tight, aka the look for your Saturday night club experience.  Granted, it’s hot outside.  Apparently they are in the midst of a heat wave, so I respect that you are just trying to stay cool by that point.  But the shorts were bejeweled.  The sandals were sequined.  And quite a few shirts left very little to the imagination.

I’m sure some people wore things besides sports ts and insanely short shorts while I was there (like my friends).  But my strongest memory was the lack of variety.  No one stood out from each other, no one tried to make a statement or experiment.  There were no goths, no real prepsters.  And NO HIPSTERS!  That was the weirdest of all.  Pittsburgh has quite a few universities, where one might safely expect to see a few, but no one seems to be hanging around this summer.  There was not one hipster to be seen in my four days there, and we even went to a few places where one might expect to see one.  I felt like I was on a safari, trying to catch a glimpse of a rare giraffe or something.

And of course there was a furry convention going on at the same time, so that added some flavor to the scene.  I got a pretty decent shot of one fellow as we were passing him.

Who even knew they had a convention? Learn something new every day.

Leave a Reply

