To Save the World or Not

14 Jul

Upon returning from New York, I was trying to decide what to write a blog about.  Unlike Pittsburgh, I have so many fashion impressions from New York City.  Should I talk about the rompers?  The braless dresses?  The amount of HATS you can buy on the street?!

The topic that has really stuck with me turns out to be an old one: TOMS.  This was hardly my first introduction to the shoe, but it was one of my first concrete experiences where I can remember saying “yes, I want one.”

TOMS, in case you don’t know, has a pretty rockin charity campaign.  For every shoe you buy, a pair goes to a child in need.  And the price isn’t ridiculous, so it doesn’t feel like you are paying for two pairs instead of the one.

Their downfall, for me, has always been the style.  I just find the design of the shoe plain ugly.  The toe is strange, there’s too much fabric, and the patterns are straight up bizarre.

Is this supposed to be a ballet slipper?

Plain ugly.

But after seeing approximately a bizillion pairs over the weekend, I’m starting to reassess my opinion.  I have at least two close friends who own a pair and adore them.  They are easy, simple, and apparently really comfortable.  The no sock thing is really an option and won’t destroy my heels.  And, of course, there is the knowledge that you’ve helped a child in need.

So now for the big question.  Which pair should I buy?

3 Responses to “To Save the World or Not”

  1. JoBiv July 15, 2011 at 10:41 am #

    I like the beige stripes! Patterned but quiet, so you can mix and match with other patterns. I like the sneakery style better, too.

  2. compbk July 15, 2011 at 11:15 am #

    Can I tell you that I was actually thinking the SAME THING! I’ve always thought they were super ugly, but then I saw a pair of GLITTER toms that made me completely rethink my stance…

  3. thegroomsmom2011 August 3, 2011 at 11:52 am #

    I’m a bit late for voting, I know – I just found your blog. Love it. And I’m with you on TOMS; not a fan of the styles but a worthy endeavor.
    Oh, I vote for the coral stripe. There not as versatile as the beige, but make more of a statement, which is kind of the point of wearing TOMS once you buy them, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

