Pocahontas in 2011

28 Aug

The other day a friend texted me saying “Ok, apparently Pocahontas is fashionable this season.  Wtf am I supposed to wear?”  And she’s so right!  She meant it in a broader sense, in the textile/pattern sense, but I instantly connected in the headband across the forehead sense.

Also known as a hippie headband, these are popping up all over the place.  Again.  Must be a part of the whole revival of ’70s colors and patterns. 

So what is it about wearing a piece of fabric across your forehead? For fashion, I should add, since athletes use headbands to keep their sweat under control (And then of course there are those musicians that wear sweatbands on stage, which might be for fashion and might be for function- but I digress.).  The women I see with these headbands are young, college aged ladies.  I highly doubt any woman over the age of 30 would be caught dead in that. So are they sexy? Maybe the nod to the ’70s hippie style is a nod to the culture as well?

I’m hoping this goes away soon.  My friend is right- I really don’t want to dress like Pocahontas when I stopped watching Disney princess movies over a decade ago.

Well, mostly.

3 Responses to “Pocahontas in 2011”

  1. renee 2.0 August 29, 2011 at 11:06 am #

    psh! i’m pro this because it keeps my growing bangs out of my eyes. i mean, other alternative? 90’s style headband hair pulled back look. basically. worst thing ever :

  2. mzpinetree August 29, 2011 at 12:05 pm #

    I have to agree with you on the headband issue! As a woman over 30, I wouldn’t be caught dead in one…for fashion. I do wear a Celtics sweatband for riding my bike, and when I’m doing chores around the house. They just look weird. Plus, I always wonder how they stay on people’s heads…they must not be moving their heads around much!

  3. JoBiv August 30, 2011 at 10:50 am #

    That photo of Paris Hilton makes me think more Flapper than Pocahontas.

    Still a bit more costumey than high fashion in these photos. And how do you keep the hair at the back of your head down? In my experience you end up with a kind of forced bed-head. Maybe it’s the shape of my skull or something…

    No matter what, I always think this look is pretty contrived. I mean, these women want to look like they just “threw on” a headband, when we KNOW their beds and floors are covered with rejected outfit ideas.

Leave a Reply

